Hero of War

hero_of_warhqdefault

Most of the time, I have one song constantly stuck in my head, and it usually depends on my mood, and life at the time, and I just thought I would share which one I cannot stop thinking about. “Hero of War” by Rise Against is one of those songs that I cannot get tired of. I heard it for the first time this August at my camp, and at first, I only listened to the lyrics and notes, and realized what sad message it had, but I knew that I liked that about it. I downloaded it on spotify after camp, and I haven’t stopped listening to it. In fact, I sometimes put on the karaoke and connect my mic and just sing it since I like it so much, I want to learn to sing it well. You may never have heard of this song, in which case, I want you to listen to it with an open mind before you read the rest of this, and do NOT watch the music video, it ruins your imagination. My favorite part of the song is the last chorus;

A hero of war

Is that what they see

Just medals and scars

So damn proud of me”

It clearly shows the idea that everyone has about the people who fight in the army. People who haven’t been in the army, don’t understand what those have been, have been through. Wars usually cause most people who have fought in the army to have severe physical and mental damage. This song truly describes the reality of the soldiers. It reminds me of the poem, “Dulce et Decorum est” written by Wilfred Owen during World War I, but it reached me in a much deeper level. The quote, “Dulce et decorum est pro patria mori” means “It is sweet and glorious to die for one’s country”. In the song “Hero of War”, the chorus goes;

“I’ll carry this flag

To the grave if I must

Because it’s a flag that I love

And a flag that I trust”

This demonstrates the brainwashing soldiers have been put through during training. They are taught to do anything for their country and for the greater good without question or thought. In the beginning of the song, the soldier takes pride in his boots, and his shaved head, but towards the end, he has changed his idea of how soldiers have it. Also, it ends with a repetition of the first sentence, to help audience reflect over the song, and his experience. Overall, this message is so important to everyone, and I hope this song reaches a lot more people because it is beautiful.

XOXO,

G

Leave a Reply

