Just A Girl?

IMG_5558IMG_5549IMG_5537

Hi, I’m Gry, and I am a feminist. Did that affect your point of view of me? Since I said I was a feminist, you may have started to already create many stereotypical assumptions about me. No, I am not a man-hater, and no I don’t think women are better than men. I simply believe in the notion that women are equal to men. We are all human so why should our gender define what we are worth? There are so many reasons I think our society needs a change to create equality.

One of the biggest issues is the pay gap. Woohoo, who doesn’t enjoy the pay gap (please note sarcasm)? For every dollar a man earns, a woman earns 78 cents. WOW! This means it takes 15 months for women to earn the same as a man does in 12 months. This makes me worry for my future, and for so many other’s future. No matter how hard women work, they will be paid less because “they are just women”. The only job that has reported that they pay the same for both men and women is speech pathology. That’s one in like one million jobs. That is so mind-blowing to me.

Dress code. My school has this crazy obsession with the dress code. The rules are; no showing bra straps, shorts/skirts/dresses need to be longer than what your hands reach, and the shirts need to have a thicker sleeve than four of your fingers. These rules target women specifically more than men, and it is telling them to be ashamed of their bodies. It demonstrates the idea that all of our bodies are simply for others to look at, also known as objectification of bodies. Not only is this insulting to the students who are being dress coded due to “being a distraction” but it is also insulting to the people who the teachers say are being distracted because they are saying that they aren’t controlled enough. Also, saying that student’s skin is distracting more people than pulling a student out of class to make them change. I don’t know about you, but I have never heard anyone say, “I couldn’t concentrate during that assignment in class because all I could see was _______ shoulders/bra straps/legs.” Overall, sexualizing bodies, mainly women’s because that’s who most people sexualize.

Let’s talk sexual assault now. According to facts.randomhistory, “Globally, about 1 in 3 women will be beaten or raped in her lifetime,” (2014). This indicates that if I have a friend group of three girls, one of us will be raped or beaten in our life. This is a very high amount of women who get beaten or raped, but I guess it doesn’t matter because “she was provoking the assaulter” (please note sarcasm). According to the U.N., 99.3% of women and girls in Egypt have been subjected to sexual harassment. Can you believe that? I sure can’t. The Guardian once stated, “Approximately 1.2 million children worldwide are victims of human trafficking, and over 80% are girls,”(2013). When most people found out about this, their question was, “What were they wearing?” This is what I can’t wrap my head around; why would it matter if someone was wearing a low cut shirt or a turtleneck? It won’t stop the assault from happening, so why blame the clothing of the victim. This teaches the victim that it is their fault, which is totally untrue. I am not saying that only women are victims because in fact, about 9% of sexual assault victims are men. This is still super serious. Every eight minutes, Child Protective Service responds to a report of sexual abuse from any gender. With that in mind, there are still so many sexual assaults that go unreported. They may go unreported for many reasons but one is because “93% of juvenile sexual assault victims know their attacker,” (U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistic, 2000). So, sexual assault is quite serious if you weren’t aware of it before.

This may be a long rant, but I felt like our society needed a change. Instead of making women work harder, or show less skin, what if we actually made a change in our society. What would happen if women and men would earn the same amount? Or if assaulters would stop assaulting? I know it may not be easy for them because of some strange reason, but at least knowing that they are trying to stop would be relieving. I want to be able to walk home at night without having to hold my keys between my fingers in case someone tries following me. I don’t want to have to run if I see a man walking behind me because he “could” be an assaulter. I am sorry if this is not the kind of post I usually make, but I felt like I needed to step up about the rights that we all deserve.

XOXO,

G

If this was too much for you to handle, here is another thing you can look at;

Resources:

63 Interesting Facts About FEMINISM. (n.d.). Retrieved May 12, 2016, from http://facts.randomhistory.com/feminism-facts.html

Who are the Victims? | RAINN | Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network. (n.d.). Retrieved May 12, 2016, from https://rainn.org/get-information/statistics/sexual-assault-victims

Leave a Reply

