Ideas for Celebrating the Holidays

grandmaandi

grandmaandi
My grandma and I last Christmas.

There are many ways to celebrate the holidays, whether it’s with family, friends or alone. Therefore, I decided to share some ideas of how to celebrate.

  1. Secret Santa- If you have a group of friends that want to give each other gifts for the holidays (mostly Christmas in this case) you can make it a little more exciting by not knowing who is giving who gifts. My friends and I did it both this year and last year, and it was so exciting because we didn’t know who got each other.
  2. Have a party of some sort/ get-together- In our school we usually have a christmas themed school dance towards the end of school in December so that is our form of party to celebrate. It is a great way to gather a lot of your friends and just enjoy.
  3. Decorate your house- Okay, I have a thing for decorating for any occasion! I have a tradition with my grandpa to plant plants and decorate the pot, then put them a little all over the house. It is a great time to talk with someone and get the holiday spirit.
  4. Play a family game- My family and relatives always play a game we call “Present Game” and everyone brings a gift for about $30, and nobody knows whats in each wrapping. Then you take turns rolling the dice, and each time you roll a 6 you can steal a gift or take one from the pile in the middle. After one minute, you stop and you get the gift that you have at the time.
  5. Play bingo with friends/family- The night before Christmas, my family sits on the couch and plays bingo and eats sandwiches. It doesn’t seem like much, but just creating a tradition to spend time with your loved ones means a lot.
  6. Go present shopping- I usually go shopping with Lina for christmas, but sometimes I go alone. It is so nice to really do something for others, it doesn’t need to be bought. Just giving to others is what makes me happy.
  7. Watch Christmas or Hanukkah movies, anything you find to be holiday like- Just watch anything that really puts you in a holiday spirit. Some of my favorite Christmas movies are Elf, Love Actually, How The Grinch Stole Christmas, and Rudolph The Red nosed Reindeer. However, my friend, Jack, played a part in the Christmas and Hanukkah movie called “Switchmas” but also known as “Ira Finkelstein’s  Christmas” so I definitely recommend that movie as well.
  8. Just enjoy the holidays by relaxing!
Leave a Reply

